site Downloader
Lefkonos 2-12, 1011 Nicosia

The Paris Agreement enters into force after its ratification by the EU

The European Parliament adopted on 4 October 2016 the ratification of the Paris Agreement by the European Union.

Following approval by the European Parliament of the ratification of the Paris Agreement by the President of the European Commission, Mr Jean-Claude Juncker, UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon and the President of the 21 UN Conference on the climate (COP 21), Mr Ségolène Royal - was overtaken by the last obstacle. The political process for ratification of the agreement by the European Union was completed.

Today, the President of the European Commission, Mr Jean-Claude Juncker said: "Today the European Union has turned its climate ambitions into climate action. The Paris Agreement is the first of its kind and would not have been possible without the European Union. "Today, once again, we have taken the lead and proved that the European Union, together, can achieve its goals."So far, 62 parties, which account for about 52% of world emissions, have ratified the Paris Agreement. The agreement will enter into force 30 days after ratification by at least 55 parties representing at least 55% of world emissions. Ratification and deposit by the EU will lead to exceeding the 55% emission limit and, consequently, to the entry into force of the Paris Agreement.

The EU, which played a key role in building the "ambition coalition" that led to the ratification of the Paris Agreement last December, is a world leader in climate action. The European Commission has already submitted legislative proposals aimed at implementing the EU's commitment to reduce emissions in the European Union by at least 40% by 2030.

Next steps

Following adoption by the European Parliament, the Council can now formally adopt the decision. At the same time, the individual EU Member States will ratify the Paris Agreement in accordance with their national parliamentary procedures.